Jesus the first consecrated to the Father

At the Last Supper Jesus prays to the Father on behalf of his apostles as recorded in the Gospel of John 17:19-21: “Holy Father, keep them in Your name….Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I sent them into the world. And I consecrate myself, so that they also may be consecrated in truth. My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.”

This prayer was directed to the Father on the night before Jesus died. In the face of death a persons last words carry a weight of importance, exposing their innermost thought. As Jesus spent his whole public ministry “showing us the Father,” so now on the evening before he dies, he seals it with this priestly prayer.

Jesus, thus, has included all of us and should this not compel us to personally live our consecration by dedicating ourselves formally to this Perfect Plan of the Father? The next few posts will pursue a way that is steeped in Salvation History to help us understand the immense  love of the Father, showing us the “great Circle of Love” which is our  return to  the Father’s Heart and Home.

